Cree ᐧ ᓀᐦᐃᔭᐃᐧ nêhiyawi

Hello classmates,

In this blog post, I am going to talk about my initial thoughts about my major digital project, the decision that I have made, and the reason that I have chosen the learning project that I have chosen.

Initially, I had planned to implement a Google Classroom; however, the program that I am working on is going through a lot of changes as it is a new program. I did not want to begin a project until I had a better idea of what the next couple of months will look like. To avoid any unnecessary hang ups, I moved on to a learning project.

As many of you may have seen on my twitter account , I have decided I would like to begin to learn Cree as my major learning project. How did I come to this decision you might ask? Let me explain.

I have had the fortune of learning a second language, and I discovered the interconnectivity of  language and culture. One can only truly understand concepts and emotions that one has words to comprehend.

I hope that in beginning to study Cree, I will learn and develop a depth of understanding not only of language but also of culture.

In addition, I recognize the importance of keeping traditional languages alive. Cree  cannot not be learnt in any other part of the world but in Saskatchewan. It is a language that is unique to the land that I grew up on. I strongly believe that the places that one grows up on shape and form a central part of their identities. I want to be develop, through language, an understanding of the words that have formed the history and culture of the lands that I live on.

Please share any resources that you may have. I have discovered some apps such as this one called My Cree. It also looks like the Athabasca Tribal Council has recently launched an app called ATC Cree. I am excited about using the apps and undertaking this journey.

Has anyone in the class learned Cree? Or, does anyone speak Cree? I am going to need all the help that I can get! 

All the best,

Colleen

 

This entry was posted in Learning Project, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cree ᐧ ᓀᐦᐃᔭᐃᐧ nêhiyawi

  1. Hi Colleen,

    I think this is a wonderful idea! I appreciate the connection you have made between language and culture given your experience. As one who only speaks one language, I had never really considered learning another language as providing insight into a new culture. Thank you for sharing this perceptive.

    As part of our learning journey in this class we have been encouraged to look at non digital resources as well. Have you considered reaching out to a Cree elder? You might consider contacting the Elders at the University of Regina. Here is a link to the Aboriginal Student Center. https://www.uregina.ca/student/asc/programs-services/cta/cy-support.html. Good luck! I look forward to following your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cdegelman says:

    Awesome project idea girl! You should follow Aaron Warner on twitter @MrEhron He was a teacher at my school the last few years before he moved to a new school this year and he did some amazing projects with his students around learning cree. I tagged you in a tweet of his where he is talking about the #100daysofcree. Good luck! I can’t wait to follow along!

    Like

  3. strauchc says:

    Hey! Thanks for the contact person! I have followed him on Twitter. Beginning to feel more connected which is good. It feels like an overwhelming task but I am excited about it!

    Thanks again!

    Colleen

    Like

  4. Colleen, I love your reason for learning Cree. This is beautiful!
    I am taking a course on language policies, and I have some classmates who speak Cree. One of them is an Elder, and she also teaches Cree. She works for the Aboriginal Student Centre at the U of R.
    I never thought about learning another language for the purpose of protecting and promoting a minor language. Again, this is amazing!
    Jaque

    Liked by 1 person

    • strauchc says:

      Thanks Jacque. I am a little overwhelmed by the pronunciation but it’s all part of the process! I will be happy to have a basic level understanding to understand more of the history and culture and language.

      Like

  5. Hi colleen,
    I am excited by your topic, I love learning new languages and culture,I look forward to following your post and I hope to learn some new things from you.
    Sapna

    Like

  6. strauchc says:

    Thanks so much Sapna! I feel the same way. I am looking forward to it.

    Like

  7. ssalloums says:

    Hey Colleen,

    The following are some resources that may help you in your learning project. The first one is an app and the other two are websites. Good luck!

    http://tansi.tv/mycree/
    https://www.creeclassroomonline.com/
    http://giftoflanguageandculture.ca/glcp/interactive-learning.html

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is wonderful, Colleen. Can’t wait to hear how it goes for you!

    Like

  9. cdegelman says:

    Your project has brought me awareness to how many people are also learning languages. I find myself stumbling across many colleagues and classrooms sharing the resources they are using to learn Cree as well. I may have to join!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. strauchc says:

    Thank you so much Channing. Please do join in. My goal is to have an update of my progress and my plans going forward this week. I will share more resources as well for anyone who may want to embark on a learning project in their classroom:)

    Like

  11. Pingback: Learn Cree: The Foundations | Advocacy and Learning

Leave a Reply

